Menu Close

Who Are We?

Ijaz S Jamall and Björn LDM Brücher are Fellows of Theodor-Billroth-Academy®, and its International Consortium of Research Excellence (INCORE), the Royal Society of Biology, and Ijaz Jamall the Royal Society of Medicine. In 2014, Jamall and Brücher published a new paradigm of how cancers originate. This was followed by 14 peer-reviewed papers that explain in detail how their paradigm would help prevent cancers and block or reverse the metastases of solid cancers.

Both scientists were elected in 2019 to the European Academy of Science and Arts (EASA, Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea) due to their contribution to cancer research.  Among the approximately 2,000 members of the Academy worldwide, there are 34 Nobel Prize Laureates. Known EASA members (Nobel Prize and year) are Michail Gorbatschow (Nobel Peace Prize 1990), Sir Richard Timothy Hunt (Physiology/Medicine 2001), Harald zur Hausen (Physiology/Medicine 2008), Thomas Südhof (Physiology/Medicine 2013), Fraser Stoddart (Chemistry 2016), and Emmanuelle Charpentier (Chemistry 2020). Jamall and Brücher are among a handful of scholars who deal with issues relevant to cancer research in an interdisciplinary and cross-border manner.

Ijaz Jamall, PhDDr Ijaz Jamall received his B.S. in Toxicology from St. John’s University in New York. He obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, and was hired as an Assistant Professor at St. John’s University. He was granted tenure and promoted to Associate Professor. Jamall also held the rank of Associate Clinical Professor (Volunteer Clinical Faculty) at the University of California-Davis School of Medicine in Internal Medicine. Since 2007, Dr. Jamall has served pro bono as the Clinical Research Director for the Xeroderma Pigmentosum Family Support Group in the USA. This is a genetic disease where children develop skin cancers from exposure to sunlight as their DNA repair enzymes are defective. Dr. Jamall has been studying the role of inflammation and fibrosis in diseases for decades. He ranks in the 97th percentile of all scientists worldwide ( His focus, in collaboration with Dr. Brücher, has been in oncology with an emphasis on the roles of inflammation and fibrosis in cancer and how these processes affect the initiation and progression of most cancers and promote metastases.

Professor Björn BrücherProfessor Björn Brücher received his medical degree (MD) from Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and completed residencies at University of Oxford and Bradford College. He earned his Ph.D. in 2001 in clinical and molecular biology from the TUM and the Helmholtz Centre in Munich in 2003. He did a stint at the MD Anderson Cancer Center, in Houston, Texas, USA. Brücher led the cancer surgery team at the University Hospital in Tübingen from 2007 to 2012. In 2008, he was appointed Professor of Surgery, founded the Theodor Billroth Academy and co-founded in 2013 its international consortium for scientific excellence (INCORE). Professor Brücher received numerous national and international awards including the Karl-Heinrich-Bauer Cancer Research Award and the prestigious Theodor-Billroth-Award by the Austrian Society of Surgery. He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (F.A.C.S.), and a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of England (F.R.C.S. Engl.). In 2012 he received honorary membership of the Israeli Society of Surgical Oncology (ISSO). Professor Brücher serves as ambassador of the European Association of Cancer Research (EACR) since 2013 and as one of the Leading Physicians of the World – “Top Surgical Oncologist, Cancer Patient Care & Research Specialist” by ‘The International Association of Oncologists’ in 2014. He was invited as an expert of the American Joint Cancer Committee (AJCC) for the new cancer classification system. He is a founder and Editor in Chief of 4open, an open access journal. He now serves as Deputy Chair at the Department of Surgery, Carl-Thiem-Klinikum in Cottbus, Germany. Brücher serves the entire spectrum of general and cancer surgery and is an expert in the field of tumors of the digestive tract and in research on carcinogenesis and metastases.

Skip to content